Structure & Management

The General Assembly is the highest governing body of the Society and convenes every 3 years. The Central Council is the governing body of the Myanmar Red Cross Society between the sessions of the General Assembly. The Central Council is comprised of 63 members, out of which 17 members represent State and Division-level branches. The governance of the Society is formed by 10 Executive Committee members. 5 out of 10 members are retired professionals and who work full-time on voluntary basis, are responsible for providing guidance for making policy, and give directions and guidance in the implementation of the organization’s activities.

The structure of the National Headquarters (NHQ) consists of 12 Departments  and 1 Unit. They are:

  • Administrative Department
  • Organizational Development Department
  • First Aid and Safety Services Department
  • Health Department
  • Humanitarian Values and Communication Department
  • Finance Department
  • Disaster Management Department
  • Partner Relations Department
  • Resource Mobilization Department
  • Human Resources Department
  • Logistics Department
  • Restoring Family Links Department
  • Operational Management Unit


President: Pro. Dr. Daw Mya Thu
Vice President: Pro. Dr. Daw Nan Htwan Hla
Secretary General: U Khin Maung Hla
Executive Committee (Full-time): U Kim Bawi
Executive Committee (Full-time): Dr. Daw Amaya Maw Naing
Deputy Secretary General: Dr. Daw Nyo Nyo Wint
Deputy Secretary General: Dr. U Tin Tun Aung
Partner Relations: Dr. U Tin Tun Aung
Director of Humanitarian Values and Communication: Daw Shwe Sin Kyaw Soe
Director of Disaster Management: Daw San San Maw
Director of Finance: Daw Thin Thin Aung
Director of First Aid and Safety Services: Daw Khin Khin Shein
Director of Health Division: Dr. Daw Thidar Kyu
Director of Organizational Development: Dr. Daw Lynn Lynn Thet
Director of Restoring Family Links: Daw Su Su Lynn
Director of Admin: Dr. U Thein Ngwe
Director of Logistics: Daw Ei Ei Htwe
Director of Operational Management Unit Daw Aye Aye Nyein
Head Of Department of Human Resources: Daw Chang Min Oo
Head Of Department of Resource Mobilization: Daw May Sandar Myo